The Owatonna High School girls hockey team closed their successful season by presenting their team awards recently.

The Huskies finished as the Section 1A runner up while putting together a 19-9 record for their eighth straight winning record. Senior Jessica "Betty" VonRuden was named the Most Valuable Player. She also earned All-State honorable mention. All Big Nine conference selections included VonRuden, senior Peyton DeVinny and sophomore Margo Achterkirch. Meanwhile, senior Meghan Rethemeier and junior Jenna Bogen were honorable mention picks.

VonRuden and Rethemeier earned All Big Nine scholar awards, with Rethemeier also landing All-State academic recognition, the team's citizenship award and Hobey Baker honor.

The most improved player as voted on by the team was sophomore goalie Laura Ebeling. Achterkirch won the most dedicated award. Senior Megan Foss won the Patrick Arnfelt scholarship award and VonRuden got the Brenda Wilcox scholarship award.

Owatonna coach Tim Hunst was named the state AA coach of the year in addition to earning the Section 1A honor.

VonRuden, DeVinny and Rethemeier all were selected for the coaches association all-star series.

Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media