Owatonna High School baseball will play six games this spring against teams that begin the season ranked in the top 10 in the first Let's Play Baseball poll.

The season opener for the Huskies comes Tuesday, April 12, at defending section champion Northfield (No. 5AAA in the preseason rankings). Owatonna was the section runner-up last spring. OHS holds its home opener Thursday, April 14, with Faribault, then travels to No. 3AAAA Minnetonka on Monday, April 18. In mid-May, Owatonna hosts No. 2AAAA Eden Prairie.

A rematch with Northfield and a doubleheader against No. 7AAA Mankato West also happen in May. Several other Big Nine teams are receiving votes, including Albert Lea, Rochester Century and Mankato East.

Minnesota high school baseball and softball has added a fourth class for the playoffs. Section 1AAAA opponents for Owatonna include Lakeville North (No. 4AAAA), Farmington (receiving votes), Lakeville South, New Prague, Rochester Mayo, John Marshall and Century (receiving votes).

Preseason poll

Class AAAA

  1. Chanhassen (2015 Class AAA state champion)
  2. Eden Prairie (vs. Owatonna May 16 at Dartts Park)
  3. Minnetonka (vs. Owatonna April 18 in Minnetonka)
  4. Lakeville North (2015 state AAA runner-up)
  5. Mounds View
  6. Wayzata
  7. Maple Grove
  8. Anoka
  9. Prior Lake
  10. Chaska

Other regional teams include

  • receiving votes: Farmington, Rochester Century

Class AAA

  1. Alexandria
  2. Rocori
  3. Mahtomedi
  4. Bemidji
  5. Northfield (defending Section 1AAA champion)
  6. Marshall
  7. Mankato West
  8. Holy Angels
  9. Hutchinson
  10. Waconia

Other regional teams include

  • 13. Kasson-Mantorville
  • 14. Red Wing
  • 20. Wasca
  • receiving votes: Albert Lea, Mankato East, Byron

Class AA

  1. St. Cloud Cathedral (defending AA state champion)
  2. Minnehaha Academy (state AA runner-up from 2015)
  3. Holy Family
  4. Rochester Lourdes (defending Section 1AA champion)
  5. Perham
  6. Minnewaska Area
  7. Fairmont
  8. Providence Academy
  9. Hawley
  10. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton

Other regional teams include

  • 12. Cannon Falls
  • 13. La Crescent
  • 14. Belle Plaine
  • receiving votes: Pine Island, Kenyon-Wanamingo, WEM, St. Charles

Class A

  1. Springfield (2015 state Class A runner-up)
  2. New Ulm Cathedral
  3. Brandon/Evansville
  4. Lewiston-Altura
  5. BOLD
  6. Hayfield
  7. Red Lake County
  8. Sleepy Eye St. Mary's
  9. New York Mills
  10. Browerville-Eagle Valley

Other regional teams include

  • 11. Mankato Loyola
  • 19. JWP
  • receiving votes: Randolph, USC
Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media