The Owatonna High School student body filled the gym to honor and applaud their fine arts and athletic award winners on Wednesday.

The Oldenberg Senior Athletes of the Year are Steph Kretlow and Alec Holcomb. Kretlow finished second at the state gymnastics meet on the vault. She tied for the title but ended up second on a tie-breaker. She led her team to the state meet for the first time in school history. Kretlow was a captain for soccer, gymnastics and track. Holcomb played football, hockey and baseball and was a captain in each sport. He has been selected to the Minnesota baseball all-star series.

The Jostens' Junior Athletes are Caitlyn Anderson and Derik Elstad. Anderson competed in tennis, basketball and track. Elstad was on the football and track teams.

The People's Press 110% Award winners are Meghan Rethemeier and Nick Raichle. Rethemeier played soccer, hockey and lacrosse. Raichle was in cross country, basketball and track.

Twelve student-athletes are now members of the O-Club, meaning they lettered in three sports as a senior.

  • Austin Abbas - football, wrestling, lacrosse
  • Jacob Borchert - football, basketball, track
  • Eli Havelka - football, basketball, baseball
  • Alec Holcomb - football, hockey, baseball
  • Sam Hylle - football, hockey, baseball
  • Steph Kretlow - soccer, gymnastics, track
  • Carli Langeland - volleyball, basketball, track
  • Kirstin Pumper - cross country, basketball, softball
  • Nick Raichle - cross country, basketball, track
  • Meghan Rethemeier - soccer, hockey, lacrosse
  • Millie Wanous - tennis, basketball, softball
  • Blake Westphal - football, wrestling, baseball

State tournament teams were recognized.

  • gymnastics, adapted floor hockey, robotics

Three OHS teams won conference championships in 2015-16.

  • football (Big Southeast Division), gymnastics, girls lacrosse

Academically, a number of OHS teams had a great season.

  • State Academic Champion: boys hockey
  • Gold Award: football, gymnastics, girls basketball, volleyball, boys cross country, girls lacrosse and girls track

Several Owatonna coaches earned special recognition.

  • Big Nine Coach of the Year: Jeff Williams (football) and Tom Smith (gymnastics)
  • Section Coach of the Year: Tim Hunst (girls hockey), Smith and Doug Maine (football assistant)
  • State Coach of the Year: Hunst and Smith
  • Semper Fi Coach Award: Bob Waypa (boys soccer)
  • Named as an all-star football assistant: Marc Achterkirch

The AAA Award winners are Ryan Guenther and Tessa Rahrick. The AAA Award is sponsored by the Minnesota State High School League and honors seniors who participate in athletics and fine arts. The MSHSL-Excel Award recognizes juniors for community, education and leadership. Owatonna's winners are Ethan Dekam and Britta Gantert. Both were named as state finalists for the honor.

Fine arts award winners were also named on Wednesday.

  • Jaylin Evert, for participating in all 12 plays during four-year high school career
  • Director's Award: Evert, Gabe Cardiff and Lucas Arndt
  • Choir: Erin Ackman, Windham Anez, Bernadette Donlon, Darik Elstad, Ian Crum and Jenna McMains
  • Band: Tessa Rahrick, Thomas Pfeifer, Emily Paape and Eric Benson
  • Orchestra (winds): Luke Berkley, who was also selected to the National Association for Music Education all-National Concert Band
  • Orchestra: India Enter, Zacharaiah Granowski, Herbie Rand and James Rand. The National School Orchestra Award went to Riley Arther.

State and national DECA, FFA, Speech and BPA students were also honored.


Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media