The Cobras and Awesome Blossoms won their playoff openers. NRHEG and Medford were eliminated. Owatonna had a first-round bye and will host Northfield on October 20.

The high school football playoffs began around the KRFO / Kat Kountry 105 listening area Wednesday night. Winners advance to section semifinal games on Tuesday, October 20. Kickoff is 7PM.

Section 1-5A
Northfield 35, Rochester Century 14
Rochester JM 35, Austin 6
Northfield at Owatonna, KRFO AM 1390, 6:35PM pregame
Rochester JM at Rochester Mayo

Section 2A
Blooming Prairie 34, USC 6
Faribault BA 26, St. Clair 15
Mankato Loyola 34, MVL 28
New Ulm Cathedral 44, JWP 24
Blooming Prairie at Faribault BA, Kat Kountry 105FM, 6:40PM pregame
Mankato Loyola at New Ulm Cathedral

Section 2AA
Blue Earth Area 48, NRHEG 22
WEM 41, Medford 12
Maple River 35, Le Sueur-Henderson 10
Kenyon-Wanamingo 42, LCWM 6
Blue Earth Area at WEM
Kenyon-Wanamingo at Maple River, KDHL AM 920

Section 1AA
Triton 75, St. Charles 6
Lewiston-Altura 47, Zumbrota-Mazeppa 6
Chatfield 16, Dover-Eyota 8
Caledonia 62, Winona Cotter 0
Triton at Lewiston-Altura
Chatfield at Caledonia

Section 2-4A
Bloomington Jefferson 34, Waconia 6
Chanhassen 51, New Prague 14
Bloomington Jefferson at Mankato West
Chanhassen at Chaska

Section 1-4A
Faribault 24, Mankato East 21
Hutchinson 71, New Ulm 28
Faribault vs. Marshall, at Southwest Minnesota State, Power 96 Radio
Hutchinson at Waseca

Section 1AAA
Cannon Falls 56, La Crescent 21
Plaineview-Elgin-Millville 41, Lake City 21
Rochester Lourdes 35, Pine Island 28
Cannon Falls at Tri-City United
PEM at Lourdes

Section 1-4A
Kasson-Mantorville 35, Byron 14
Red Wing 33, Albert Lea 8
Kasson-Mantorville at Stewartville
Red Wing at Winona