Three members of the Owatonna High School speech team have qualified for the state speech meet: seniors Ella Rasp and Margaret Sager and junior Jennifer Schroepfer.

The state competition for Class AA is Saturday, April 18, at Lakeville North High School. Rasp will participate in Drama. Sager is in Discussion. Schroepfer qualified in Extemporaneous Reading. The schedule begins at 10:15AM. The second and third rounds are at 11:45AM and 1:15PM. Finals are at 3:30PM and awards are at 5:30PM. Owatonna's coach is Lauren Gendron.

The tournament features the top three qualifiers from each of eight Class A sections and from each of eight AA section is 13 speech categories. The 2015 tournament qualifiers represent 168 high school teams -- 99 Class A teams and 69 Class AA teams. Students from 316 high school across Minnesota participated in speech during the current school years. There were 186 Class A teams and 114 teams in AA.

The categories are: 1) Serious Interpretation of Prose; 2) Serious Interpretation of Drama; 3) Serious Interpretation of Poetry; 4) Humorous Interpretation; 5) Storytelling; 6) Extemporaneous Reading; 7) Creative Expression; 8) Original Oratory; 9) Great Speeches; 10) Discussion; 11) Extemporaneous Speaking; 12) Informative Speaking; and 13) Duo Interpretation.

Photo Courtesy of Owatonna Magnet - Margaret Sager, Ella Rasp and Jennifer Schroepfer