Owatonna freshman Peyton Robb capped the action for the local wrestlers with a state title. OHS had four place winners. Medford had two. NRHEG had one state place winner.

Final results for the local wrestlers:

  • Peyton Robb, Owatonna freshman, first place, state champion
  • Brandon Moen, Owatonna sophomore, third place
  • Todd Erickson, NRHEG junior, third place
  • Alex Green, Owatonna senior, fourth place
  • Jaron Matson, Medford freshman, fourth place
  • Tanner Cole, Owatonna sophomore, fifth place
  • Nate Elzen, Medford senior, sixth place

Did not place:

  • Justin Tacheny, Owatonna senior
  • Austin Abbas, Owatonna junior
  • Dillon Kubiatowicz, NRHEG senior
  • Cordell Peterson, NRHEG junior
  • Trevor Grems, Medford senior
  • Ethan Arett, Blooming Prairie freshman
  • Zach Nirk, Blooming Prairie senior
See full results below.

State Tournament Wrestling, individual results Friday and Saturday, Feb. 27-28


Peyton Robb, freshman, 106 pounds
first round: won by major decision 13-1 over Dylan Droegemueller of Champlin Park
quarterfinals: won by 15-2 major decision over Zac Spohn of Sauk Rapids-Rice
semifinals: won 7-4 Aaron Cashman of Mound Westonka
Championship match: defeated Victor Gliva of Farmington 12-5 for first place.

Peyton Robb's title is the 23rd in Owatonna High School wrestling history, and the first since Dalton Henderson in 2010. Robb, who lost to Gliva in the section final a week before, grabbed early control of the match. He jumped out to a 4-2 lead after a scramble at the opening whistle. Robb added a takedown for a 6-3 after the first period. He added a takedown in the second stanza for an 8-3 after two periods. Robb withstood a charge from his Farmington countpart in the final period for a 12-5 victory and the title.

It was Robb's second appearance at state.

Tanner Cole, sophomore, 126 pounds
first round: won by 7-2 decision over Collin Olevson of Chanhassen
quarterfinals: won 5-4 over December Htoo of Roseville Area
semifinals: lost 6-4 to George Farmah of Eastview
wrestle back: lost 10-5 to Wade Sullivan of Lakeville North
Fifth-place match: won 16-1 over Karl Keeler of Mounds View

Justin Tacheny, senior, 132 pounds
first round: lost by 16-0 major decision to Seth Elwood of Apple Valley

Alex Green, senior, 138 pounds
first round: won by pin over Korey Keske of Sauk Rapids-Rice
quarterfinals: lost to Jake Allar of STMA
wrestle back: won by a 15-0 tech fall over Kyle Evans of Minneapolis South
wrestle back: win 5-3 Theo Gee of Maple Grove
wrestle back: won 4-2 over Ryan Reid of Mound Westonka
Third-place match: lost 9-4 to Aaron Wilson of St. Francis

Brandon Moen, sophomore, 152 pounds
first round: won by major decision 13-0 over Louie Varland of North St. Paul
quarterfinals: won by 15-4 major decision over Joe Dubbels of Eagan
semifinals: lost 9-1 to Lucas Jeske of STMA
wrestle back: won by injury default over Brenden Olevson of Chanhassen
Third-place match: won 10-8 in overtime over Colten Carlson of Willmar

Austin Abbas, junior, 285 pounds
first round: lost by fall to Isaac Schmaedeke of Roseville Area


Jeron Matson, eighth grade, 106 pounds
first round: won 4-0 decision over Tyler Bents of Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
quarterfinals: lost to Ethan Cota of Kenyon-Wanamingo
wrestle back: won 6-0 over Justin Mattocks of Prairie Valley
wrestle back: win by fall over Phil Skeps of St. Agnes
wrestle back: win by fall over Mark Buringa of St. Charles
Third-place match: lost by fall to Andrew Nissen of Blackduck/Cass Lake/Bena

Trevor Grems, senior, 182 pounds
first round: won 8-6 decision over Jordan Schroepfer of Wabasso/Red Rock Central
quaterfinals: lost by fall to Jonah Lange of Frazee
wrestle back: lost 4-3 to Cooper Jedlicka of Blackduck / Cass Lake / Bena

Nate Elzen, senior, 285 pounds
first round: won by pin over Austin Gall of Pierz
quarterfinals: lost 9-1 to Garrett Malstrom of Frazee
wrestle back: won 2-1 over Blake Wolters of Pipestone Area
wrestle back: won over Ben Feuerhake of BBE
wrestle back: lost to Martin Granados of Blue Earth Area
Fifth-place match: lost 6-0 to Nick Meixell of LCWM


Ethan Arett, freshman, 106 pounds
first round: lost by fall to Tanner Schermerhorn of Frazee

Zach Nirk, senior, 220 pounds
first round: won 8-5 decision over Garrett Schanus of Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted
quarterfinals: lost to Ian Morrison of Chatfield
wrestle back: lost to Nick Fisher of Walker


Dillon Kubiatowicz, senior, 120 pounds
first round: won 2-1 decision over Brady Tweeton of Barnesville
quarterfinals: lost to Brandon Laborde of LCWM
wrestle back: won 7-3 over Jamaal Baird of Deer River
wrestle back: lost 11-4 Jared Goldsmith of Chatfield

Cordell Peterson, junior, 126 pounds
first round: lost 10-7 decision to Joel Gadient of Goodhue

Todd Erickson, junior, 220 pounds
first round: won by a 10-2 decision over Luke Rechtzigel of Kenyon-Wanamingo
quarterfinals: won 3-2 over Tyler Oberg of ACGC
semifinals: lost 3-2, OT to Manuel Garcia of BOLD
wrestle back: won by fall over Jared Welch of Wabasso/Red Rock Centeral
Third-place match: won 3-1 Tanner Templin of Blackduck/Cass Lake/Bena