Top seed Faribault survived a wild final 87 seconds (and overtime) to edge Mayo 20-14 and advance to the state football tournament.

Faribault scored with 1:27 remaining at Bruce Smith Field for a 14-7 lead. The Mayo Spartans came back to tie the game with :42 left and send it to overtime. Mayo fumbled on their O.T. possession. Falcons running back Joe Hoisington scored, sending Faribault to the state 5A tournament. Faribault will play Spring Lake Park on Saturday November 8 at Lakeville North High School. (read full recap)


Section 1-5A:     Faribault 20, Rochester Mayo 14 (overtime)

Section 2-5A:     Mankato West 42, Northfield 21

Section 1-4A:      Stewartville 41, Kasson Mantorville 6

Section 2-4A:      Hutchinson 49, Waseca 14

Section 2AA:      Norwood Young America 43, Waterville Elysian Morristown 16

Section 1AA:      Caledonia 28, Lewiston-Altura 14

Section 1-9man:  Grand Meadow 23, Spring Grove 0

Section 3AA:      Pipestone Area 42, Jackson County Central 16