All but two Owatonna wrestlers advanced to the second day of the Section 1AAA tournament at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester. Ten are in the semifinals.


Riley Becker (OHS) won by pin at :48 over Christian Tsirlis of Lakeville South at 113 pounds and faces Josh Oathoudt of Faribault in Saturday's semifinals, according to the track wrestling website.

Defending state champ Peyton Robb (OHS) returned to the mat with a second-period pin of Jaden Dukes of Lakeville South. Robb faces Ren Ross of Faribault on Saturday at 120 pounds.

Jacob Harlicker of the Huskies turned around his result against Cain VanRyn of Faribault, winning 10-9 Friday after losing to him during the team sections last weekend. Harlicker battles top seed Grant Hendren of Lakeville South on Saturday at 126 pounds.

Cade King (OHS) won by major over Austin Underdahl of Faribault in the quarterfinals of 132 pounds and meets Kyle Calley of Mayo in the semifinals.

Tanner Cole (OHS) won by pin early in the second period over Tyler Bertschinger of JM and faces Tony Avila of Faribault on Saturday at 138 pounds.

The Huskies' Bryce Goodwin won by tech fall over Mayo's William Krueger and faces top seed Logan Saltou of JM in the semifinals on 145 pounds.

Griffin Thorn (OHS) won a 9-4 decision over Josh Heyda of Faribault and faces top seed Taylor Venz of Farmington in the 182 semifinals.

Owatonna's Brandon Moen advanced to the semifinals without having to wrestle as the top seed in a seven-wrestler bracket. He faces Isaac Arjes of Austin in Saturday's semifinals at 195 pounds.

Goy Tut (OHS) captured a 3-2 win by decision over Dillon McEachran of the Falcons and meets top seed Mason Hawkins of Farmington in the 220 semis.

Austin Abbas (OHS) won by pin at heavyweight over Jordan Glomski of Mayo and draws Eli Kaercher of Austin in Saturday's semifinals.

Blake Westphal (OHS) lost to Austin Rendler of Faribault at 152 pounds but came back with a win by pin over Jacob Jarvis of Austin in the wrestle backs. Owatonna's Dillon Sheehy at 160 lost to Griffin Ferguson of JM but bounced back with a win by pin over Brady Engleken of Mayo in the wrestle backs.

Kaden Nelson (OHS) lost to No. 2 seed Riley Stoltz of Faribault at 106 pounds to open the day. Nelson came back to win a wrestle back match, but lost his next match. Journey Peterson (OHS) started the day with a win in the pig-tail round at 170 pounds over Jacob Sprafka of Century. Peterson then lost to top seed Elijah Hollins of JM and lost in the wrestle backs.

Saturday's schedule starts with the semifinals at 11AM. Wrestle backs start at 1:30PM. Championship and third place matches begin at 5PM. Listen for coverage of the Owatonna wrestlers on KRFO AM 1390 throughout the day.