Medford High School baseball is off to a strong start and is ranked in the top 20. The Tigers are 2-0. Blooming Prairie and NRHEG also won their openers.

Medford baseball began its season on schedule Thursday, April 2, with a 2-1 win at Maple River. The Tigers had strong pitching, timely offense and error-free defense. They followed that up with a 5-2 win Monday over United South Central in their home opener.

The upcoming schedule for the Tigers includes a home game with Faribault Academies on April 9, at Blooming Prairie on April 13 and at Glenville-Emmons on April 16.

Blooming Prairie won its opener over Faribault Academies 5-1 on April 2. The Blossoms did not make an error. The Awesome Blossoms plan to play at Maple River on April 9, then host games against Medford on April 13 and Southland on April 14.

NRHEG also started the season with a win, 5-4 over the Faribault Academies. The Panthers are scheduled to play at USC on April 9 and host JWP at 7PM Friday, April 10.

Triton baseball dropped its season opener to Stewartville. Owatonna had its season opener versus Rochester Century postponed on Tuesday. The teams are scheduled to play Friday, April 10, at 5PM at Dartt's Park in Owatonna.

The Associated Press rankings for Minnesota high school baseball, provided by Let's Play Baseball newspaper.

Class 3A
1. Lakeville North   (Panthers are not in Section 1 this spring, but will be next year.)
2. Eden Prairie
3. Mounds View
4. Maple Grove
5. Minnetonka
6. Cretin-Derham Hall
7. Mahtomedi
8. Bloomington Jefferson
9. East Ridge
10. Brainerd
11. Woodbury
12. Prior Lake
13. Burnsville
14. Anoka
15. Stillwater Area
16. Chaska
17. Forest Lake
18. St. Michael-Albertville
19. Chanhassen
20. Elk River
Also receiving votes: Champlin Park, Bemidji, Wayzata, Robbinsdale Armstrong, Centennial, Eastview, Hopkins, Grand Rapids, Hill-Murray, Waconia, Coon Rapids, Rosemount, New Prague, Red Wing, Duluth East, Totino-Grace, Eagan, Shakopee, Lakeville South, Edina, St. Thomas Academy, Hutchinson, Alexandria, Owatonna, Benilde-St. Margaret’s, Northfield, Cambridge-Isanti, Blaine, Buffalo, St. Francis

Class 2A
1. St. Cloud Cathedral
2. Fairmont
3. Kasson-Mantorville
4. St. Anthony Village
5. Rochester Lourdes
6. New Ulm
7. Marshall
8. DeLaSalle
9. Cannon Falls
10. Perham
11. Blake
12. Luverne
13. Minnehaha Academy
14. Little Falls
15. Delano
16. Glencoe/Silver Lake
17. Hermantown
18. La Crescent
19. Dassel-Cokato
20. Holy Angels
Also receiving votes: Belle Plaine, Albany, Aitkin, Park Rapids Area, Holy Family Catholic, Pierz, Paynesville Area, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, Providence Academy, Cloquet, Rocori, St. Charles, Osakis, Sauk Centre, St. Paul Como Park, St. Paul Highland Park, Tri-City United, Pine Island, Hawley, Foley, Waseca, Breck

1. New Ulm Cathedral
2. Chatfield
3. Springfield
4. Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s
6. New Life Academy
7. Mankato Loyola
8. Ely
9. Southland
10. Royalton
11. New York Mills
12. Wabasha/Kellogg
13. St. Agnes
14. Minneota
15. Windom Area
16. Nevis
17. Medford
18. West Lutheran
19. Browerville
20. Heritage Christian
Also receiving votes: Kenyon-Wanamingo, Bagley, Sleepy Eye, Brandont/Evansville, Murray County Central, Rushford-Peterson, West Central Area, Hinckley-Finlayson, Sacred Heart, Red Lake County, Frazee, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton, Deer River, Red Lake Central/Westbrook-Walnut Grove, Blackduck, Win-E-Mac, United South Central, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River, Wabasso, Goodhue, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial, St. Clair, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City, Breckenridge, Upsala/Swanville Area, Hayfield, Sebeka, Floodwood, Fosston