Defending state champion Owatonna was eliminated from the section 1-5A football playoffs Saturday 53-7 by Rochester Mayo. BP beat Goodhue. L-A upended Triton!


Rochester Mayo 53, Owatonna 7

Mayo had scoring plays of 46, 48 & 55 yards while eliminating Owatonna 53-7 in Rochester. The #2 seed Spartans raced out to a 26-0 halftime lead. #3 seed Owatonna ends their season at 6-4. Mayo will play at top seed Faribault in the finals on Halloween. The Falcons jumped out to a big lead and beat Rochester JM 41-21.

Blooming Prairie 41, Goodhue 28

Blooming Prairie never trailed in a back-and-forth contest with Goodhue. The Awesome Blossoms (10-0) won 41-28 and advance back to the section 1A title game. BP will play Rushford Peterson on Saturday November 1 at Rochester Regional Sports Stadium at 5:30pm. RP eliminated Faribault BA 66-20.

John Rumpza had three more TD passes (235 yards passing). Jake Decker had three touchdown runs on 127 yards and caught a TD pass as well.

Lewiston Altura 24, Triton 21

Lewiston-Altura upset Triton on Saturday night 24-21. The Cobras had beaten the Cardinals 40-21 during the regular season.

Section 1-5A
Rochester Mayo 53, Owatonna 7
Faribault 41, Rochester JM 21

Section 1A
Blooming Prairie 41, Goodhue 28
Rushford Peterson 66, Faribault BA 20
Section 1AA
Lewiston Altura 24, Triton 21
Caledonia 22, Chatfield 0

Mankato West 38, Chanhassen 35
Northfield 40, Chaska 21

Section 1-4A
Stewartville 69, Red Wing 29
Kasson Mantorville 31, Byron 21

Section 2-4A
Hutchinson 70, Mankato East 0
Waseca 28, Marshall 14

Section 2AA
WEM 28, Pine Island 17
Norwood Young America 49, Zumbrota Mazepa 12

Section 3AA
Jackson Country Central 23, Luverne 16
Pipestone Area 20, Maple River 0