The Huskies lost to Big Nine champ Rochester Mayo 3-1 in the 1AAA section semifinals. NRHEG fell to HVL champ Kenyon-Wanamingo 3-0 in the 2AA South Subsection final.

Owatonna's match at Mayo was close most of the way. Mayo won the opening set 25-16. OHS led 21-19 in the second set, but Mayo reeled off the final six points for a 25-21 win. The Huskies took the third set 25-22. The Spartans jumped out to a big lead in the fourth set on their way to a 25-12 clincher.

Owatonna had great balance at the net with six players recording four or more kills. The Huskies end the season with an 18-12 record. Seniors include Carli Langeland, Elise Oppegard and Karissa Hilstad.

Mayo plays top seed Lakeville South in the final Saturday at 3PM at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester.

NRHEG lost to top seed Kenyon-Wanamingo 25-18, 25-7, 25-12 in the South Subsection final of Section 2AA. The Panthers end the season with a 14-13 record. Seniors include Abby Wacholz, Anna Lundberg, Hailey Schuller, Abby Christopherson, Sophia Fischer, Emily Eder and Corrie Powell.

K-W advances to the Section 2AA final for the third straight season against No. 1-ranked Belle Plaine. The Knights have lost each of those matches to the Tigers. The match begins about 7:45PM Saturday at Minnesota State University, Mankato and will be heard on KDHL AM 920.

Waterville-Elysian-Morristown won the South Subsection of 2A over St. Clair 3-1 on Thursday. The Buccaneers battle Mayer-Lutheran Saturday at 6PM at MSU, Mankato. That match will also be on KDHL AM 920.

Faribault Bethlehem Academy swept Hayfield in the West Subsection final of 1A and will face Mabel-Canton Saturday at 1PM at Mayo Civic Center in Rochester on KDHL AM 920.

The Section 1AA final features Stewartville and Red Wing at 11AM.

Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media