The Owatonna High School boys and girls basketball teams have announced their award winners for the 2014-15 season.

The OHS girls basketball MVP award winner was senior Anna Edel. She was also named to the all-Big Nine team along with freshman Syd Schultz. Senior Syd Kapser earned the Defensive Player of the Year award and made the Big Nine honorable mention list. Junior Millie Wanous was the Most Improved player for the Huskies. Junior Rachel Williamson picked up the Husky Pride award.

The Huskies went 13-14 for the season, 13-9 in the conference for fifth place. The second annual girls basketball golf tournament fundraiser is July 25.

On the boys side, Dexter Leer was named Most Valuable Player. He also earned all conference, second team, honors. The Defensive MVP award was shared by Layne Frank and Matt Kingland. Cole Butler earned the Most Improved honor. The Blue Collar award went to Daniel Boubin. All award winners are seniors. Junior Alex Emanuelson was named the Big Nine honorable mention list.

Statistical awards for the boys

  • best field goal percentage: Cole Butler (50 percent)
  • best three-point shooter: Eli Havelka (38 percent)
  • best free throw shooter: Dexter Leer (78 percent)
  • rebound leader: Mason Thein
  • assist leader: Dexter Leer
  • steals leader: Alex Emanuelson
The Owatonna boys also had a 13-14 overall record. They were 11-11 in the Big Nine.



Roy Koenig / Townsquare Media