Owatonna's girls tennis team is coming off a strong performance at Saturday's Big Nine Conference meet where they finished second behind Rochester Mayo.

The Huskies had two champions and two runners-up. Sara Anderson won No. 2 singles and Caitlyn Anderson and Gabi Deml captured the No. 1 doubles title. Annabelle Paquin was second at No. 4 singles. Macy Voss and Katie Segler were second at No. 2 doubles. Mayo won the other five positions.

The Section 1AA girls tennis tournament begins Tuesday. Owatonna is the No. 3 seed in the section. The Huskies host No. 14 Faribault at 3:30PM at the OHS courts.

Owatonna swept the Falcons 7-0 in a September 13 match. The teams may have to battle the wind on Tuesday, with the forecast calling for a 20-30 mph southerly wind. The winner will face either No. 6 Northfield or No. 11 Winona in Thursday's section quarterfinals. Owatonna defeated both the Raiders and Winhawks by 6-1 counts this season.

Mayo is the top seed. The only loss the Spartans have in dual meets is to Edina, who is ranked second in the state. Lakeville North is the No. 2 seed and topped OHS 4-3 early in the season.

Section 1AA girls tennis schedule
First round, Tuesday, October 4
Faribault at Owatonna, 3:30PM
Winona at Northfield
Waseca at Rochester JM
Albert Lea at Lakeville North
Red Wing at Lakeville South
Austin at Rochester Century
Hastings at Farmington
Rochester Mayo, first round bye
Quarterfinals are Thursday, October 6, at the higher seed.
Semifinals and finals are Tuesday, October 11, at the Rochester Athletic Club.