The OHS football banquet was held Sunday. Alec Holcomb is the team MVP & Defensive player of the year. Sam Noeldner won Lineman of the year & Offensive player of the year.

Huskies coach Jeff Williams said it might be the first time a junior was voted Most Valuable Player by his teammates. Alec Holcomb was #1 for OHS in defensive points. He led the team in tackles, had three interceptions, forced a fumble and recovered two. Holcolm also blocked a kick this season; an extra point attempt at Rochester Century. That allowed the game to go to overtime, where Holcomb scored the winning touchdown on a short run. He was third on the team in rushing yards and second in receiving yards and catches.

OHS senior Sam Noeldner - a two-year starter at center - was named the Lineman of the Year and the Offensive Player of the Year. Noeldner anchored an offensive unit that rushed for 211 yards per game, third best in the Big Nine Conference.

Big Nine All Conference selections were honored on Sunday. They are seniors Matt Kingland, Sam Noeldner and Isaac Rocha and juniors Jake Borchert and Alec Holcomb.

Big Nine Scholar Athletes include Matt Kingland, Isaac Rocha, Ian Simon, Jesse Starks and Justin Tacheny. Owatonna finished as a Minnesota State Gold Level Academic team, with a cumulative GPA of about 3.25.

The 2015 captains for the Huskies will be Jake Borchert, Alex Emanuelson, Alec Holcomb and Sam Hylle.

Owatonna went 6-4 this fall, 5-3 in the Big Nine Conference. The Huskies will return a healthy dose of experience next fall. The quarterback returns. four of the top five rushers, two of the top three receivers. OHS will also bring back some good sized players along the line. Williams said, "I'm excited about the size of the kids we have coming back." The Huskies also lettered four freshman, which might be the highest number in OHS history, according to Williams. They are: Noah Budach(WR), Alex Raichle(WR), Zach Mensink(RB) and Dalton Kubista(WR).

OHS STATS, 2014 season

Rushing leaders
Julius Franklin, sr, 799 yards
Sam Hylle, jr, 459 yards
Alec Holcomb, jr, 362 yards

 Passing leader
Alex Emanuelson, jr, 110-for-188 (59% completition), 10 TD, 7 INT, 1171 yards

Receiving leaders
Isaac Rocha, sr, 39 receptions for 396 yards, 2 TDs
Alec Holcomb, jr, 19 receptions, 259 yards, 5 TDs
Blake Westphal, jr, 18 receptions, 161 yards, 2 TDs
Jake Borchert, jr, 10 receptions, 122 yards, 1 TD

The Owatonna B-Squad team went 5-3. (Losses came again Mankato West, Mayo and Rochester JM.

2014 Big Nine All Conference. Sam Noelder, Matt Kingland, Jake Borchert, Alec Holcomb and
Captains for 2015 OHS football: Sam Hylle, Alec Holcomb, Alex Emanuelson and Jake Borchert

Isaac Rocha