The Huskies never trailed and scored on three power plays in their 8-5 win over South St. Paul. Owatonna High School girls basketball topped Faribault 59-43. The Falcons beat the OHS boys 56-51.

Owatonna jumped out to a 3-0 lead on their way to an 8-5 nonconference boys hockey win over South St. Paul at Four Seasons in Owatonna on Tuesday night. The Huskies converted on three power play chances. The Packers rallied over and over and pulled within 5-4 late in the second period. Owatonna's leading goal scorer, Kade Friedrichs, sent a blast from the point into the net early in the third period for what turned out to be the game-winning goal.

Noah Scheid scored twice. Tyler Wencl had a goal and two assists. Owatonna's other goals came from John Swenson, Alec Holcomb, Trase Wencl and Adam Rehman. Brad Beistad played the first two periods in goal, making 19 saves on 23 shots. He had some equipment problems as the third period was about to begin and was relieved by Jacob Dub.

Owatonna (5-3) is off until the Heritage Tournament in Duluth starting December 28.

Scoreboard for Tuesday, December 15
Boys basketball
Faribault 56, Owatonna 51, overtime
NRHEG 57, Tri-City United 54
Southland 67, Blooming Prairie 50
Hayfield 64, Triton 48
Apple Valley 78, Farmington 61
Mankato East 82, Northfield 79
Red Wing 62, Austin 53
Rochester John Marshall 87, Winona 58
Rochester Century 77, Albert Lea 62
WEM 81, Norwood-Young America 52
Zumbrota-Mazeppa 53, Kenyon-Wanamingo 37

Girls basketball
Owatonna 59, Faribault 43
Blooming Prairie 53, Southland 37
Jordan 50, Medford 32
Hayfield 76, Triton 42
Rochester Mayo 73, Mankato West 36
Mankato East 64, Northfield 49
Rochester Century 85, Albert Lea 47
Winona 77, Rochester JM 70

Boys hockey
Owatonna 8, South St. Paul 5
Chaska 9, Dodge County 1
Rochester JM 4, Faribault 0
Henry-Sibley 8, Red Wing 2
New Ulm 4, Albert Lea 1
Mankato East 8, Austin 2

Girls hockey
Dodge County 4, Buffalo 3
Northfield 4, Red Wing 2
New Ulm 3, Waseca 0
New Prague 9, Rochester Century 0
St. Peter 3, Mankato West 1

Owatonna won at Mankato, over Mankato East and Mankato West

Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media