The Owatonna High School adapted floor hockey team plays at the state tournament Friday night in Bloomington. Over the past 13 years, the Huskies have gone to state 11 times.

Owatonna (8-3) will open play against Anoka-Hennepin (10-2) at 8 p.m. Friday, March 13, at Bloomington Jefferson High School. The tournament will continue on Saturday. The Huskies finished sixth last year. Owatonna won the state title in 2004. Anoka-Hennepin has won four titles, including one three years ago.

Adapted floor hockey is one of four team sports the Minnesota State High School League sponsors for athletes with disabilities. A gymnasium the size of a basketball court is the arena of play and the puck can be played off the walls or bleachers. The puck is hollow plastic, as are the sticks used by the players.

Teams consist of six players. Games are three periods long. The first two are 15 minutes of running time. Stop time is used in the third period.

The following list in the roster for the Huskies.

  • Abby Donahe
  • Melinda Abernathey
  • Taylor Hagen
  • Skyler Kopecky Johnson
  • Elizabeth Crawford
  • Sam Gefre
  • Nick Abernathey
  • Zach Sencer
  • Sam Mullenbach
  • Alex Burns