The 36th annual Gopher 50 was held Saturday at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley. Proceeds benefit the Blooming Prairie Lions Club.

Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ken., won for the third straight year on Saturday. He surged past pole-winner Morgan Bagley of Texas with 12 laps to go. The World of Outlaws late model win was worth more than $11,000. It's Lanigan's fifth overall Gopher 50 late model title. Lanigan has won six times in 13 career starts at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn. Chub Frank of Pennsylvania finished second. Series points leader Shane Clanton finished third.

Jimmy Mars from Menomonie, Wis., won the USRA Modified main feature Saturday night. Mars also drove in the late model feature, finishing in 10th place. Brandon Davis of Medford was second in the modified race. Cory Crasper from Wisconsin was third.

Local finishers in the modified feature included Jay Ihrke from Dover in sixth place, Lucas Schott from Chatfield in ninth, Keith Foss of Winona in 10th, Steve Wetzstein of West Concord in 11th, Jacob Bleess of Chatfield in 12th, Jason Cummins of New Richland in 13th, Joe Horgdal of Kasson in 14th, Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie in 15th, Mark Motl from Owatonna in 16th, Darwyn Karau of Kasson in 18th and Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie in 19th.