After splitting a pair of road games against top 10-ranked teams Owatonna football will open its home schedule against last year's section champion Faribault on Friday night at 7PM.

Owatonna scored a solid 35-14 over Faribault last September. The Huskies out-gained the Falcons about 440-290 yards. But Faribault went on to win the section title over Rochester Mayo and play in the state tournament. The 2014 Faribault team had nine senior starters on offense and defense. This year's starting quarterback for Faribault is Kade Hart, who got extended time last year after the starter went down with an injury.

Faribault is 0-2 this season with a 50-21 loss to Mayo and a 33-28 loss to Red Wing in a back and forth battle. Owatonna is 1-1 after a 27-21 come-from-behind victory over Rochester JM in double overtime last Friday. Radio coverage will be heard on AM 1390 KRFO and with the RadioPup app. Kickoff is 7PM.

Owatonna has won four straight over Faribault and six of the past seven. The teams are not in the same section this year. Owatonna remains in 1AAAAA, while Faribault moves to 2AAAA.

Another great rivalry game Friday night is the game of the week feature on Kat Kountry 105FM. NRHEG plays at WEM at 7PM. The teams are both 2-0. This year they play in the same district and section. The Buccaneers pulled out a close victory with a late score last year.

Blooming Prairie is home against St. Clair on Friday night, and Medford plays at Mankato Loyola.

The latest rankings include some local and area connections. In Class 5A, Mankato West is top rated. Mayo is No. 10. Owatonna and John Marshall are each receiving votes. In Class 4A, Stewartville is third ranked. Mankato East and Red Wing are receiving votes. In Class, 3A Rochester Lourdes is No. 1.

The Class 2A poll shows Caledonia on top. WEM is fifth. Triton is among the others getting votes. In Class 1A, Bethlehem Academy and Blooming Prairie are both receiving votes. Grand Meadow is tops in nine-man football.



Owatonna's cheerleaders get warmed up for a game at the OHS stadium last season. Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media