Northfield had the tables turned on them at this year's state baseball tournament. Last year the Raiders upset top seed Mounds View. This year Northfield got upset in their opener.

The Big Nine champion Raiders are the No. 2 seed in the tournament. Henry-Sibley finished last in the Metro East Conference and entered the Class AAA tournament with a 12-15 overall record. The Warriors won the quarterfinal 3-1 Thursday under blue, sunny skies at Dick Siebert Field at the University of Minnesota.

Henry-Sibley got a complete game effort from left-handed junior Malik Wilson, who fanned the side in the seventh for a game total of seven strikeouts. He limited Northfield to three hits and faced four or fewer batters five times in the seven-inning game.

The Warriors scored in the first inning with a two-out error and a triple. Northfield tied the game in the fifth. Daniel Glampe got walked with one out. Zach Eddy had an infield single to deep second while Glampe raced around to third base. A suicide squeeze from Ryan Torbenson pushed in the tying run. In the seventh, Henry-Sibley went ahead with a run-scoring double and a passed ball for the 3-1 final.

Northfield put runners on first and second with a double and a walk in the last of the seventh but Wilson's three straight strikeouts ended the game. Northfield plays North Branch in Friday's consolation semifinals. Henry-Sibley battles Benilde-St. Margaret's in the championship semifinals. The winner will advance to Target Field on Monday for the championship game.

Scoreboard, state baseball quarterfinals (view full brackets from
Thursday, June 16
Class 4A
Wayzata 10, Eden Prairie 5
Lakeville North 2, Maple Grove 1 (13 innings)
Woodbury 7, Burnsville 0
Champlin Park 6, Blaine 2
Class 3A
Mahtomedi 13, New Ulm 2 (six innings)
Little Falls 7, Rocori 2
Henry-Sibley 3, Northfield 1
Benilde-St. Margaret's 8, North Branch 0
Class 2A
Belle Plaine 1, Pine Island 0
Maple Lake 1, Proctor 0
Minnehaha Academy 11, East Grand Forks 2
Pierz 13, Paynesville Area 0
Class 1A
Parkers Prairie 3, BGMR 2
Hinkley-Finlayson 4, Legacy Christian Academy 3 (eight innings)
Springfield 12, Lewiston-Altura 2 (five innings)
Adrian 1, Ely 0

Roy Koenig, Townsquare Media