Governor Mark Dayton appeared in Owatonna on Thursday to address the flooding across the region.


Governor Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency for 35 counties across southern and northern Minnesota due to the storms and subsequent flooding. The executive order makes a wide range of state resources available and engages state agencies in responce efforts.

Among the counties in the declaration order:

  • Steele
  • Waseca
  • Rice
  • Dodge
  • Ohlmsted
  • Blue Earth
  • Faribault
  • Freeborn
  • Goodhue
  • Mower