Michael Tillman, a former Owatonna Teacher of the Year, is among those who will be inducted into the MSHSL Hall of Fame Sunday, October 24, in St. Paul.


Three former Olympic athletes highlight the event that will be held at the Riverfront Hotel in downtown St. Paul. Neal Broton played hockey at Roseau before playing on the 1980 Miracle on Ice team. Briana Scurry was a goalkeeper at Anoka before leading Team USA to gold medals in the Olympics and World Cup. Carrie Tollefson ran cross country for Dawson-Boyd / Lac qui Parle Valley before making the 2004 U.S. Olympic team.

Michael Tillman is a former one-act play director at Owatonna High School. He was also the speech and debate coach. He began his career in 1966 and led these activities at several high schools. He coached numerous state speech champions and directed several starred performances at the state one-act play festival. Tillman served on the Minnesota State High School League Board of Directors from 1976-78.

Other inductees include Barry Wohler (athlete at BOLD), Buzz Lagos (soccer coach), Cortney Sylvester (Rosemount speech and debate coach), Bob Karn (St. Cloud Cathedral baseball coach), Bob Brink (Rocori boys basketball coach), Gerry Keenan (St. Paul administrator), Hal Miller (Willmar tennis coach) and Darrel "Bozo" Wincek (longtime official).

The 2015 class is the 21st group to be inducted since the Hall of Fame was organized in 1991. This year's class will bring the total number of inductees to 208.