Minnesota Crackdown on Texting and Driving to Begin
More than 300 agencies, including the Steele County Sheriff's Department and the Owatonna Police Department, will take part in a statewide campaign to crack down on distracted drivers. Starting Monday, April 11, and going through Sunday, April 17, officers will be working overtime to enforce Minnesota's law banning texting while driving.
Drivers face a $50 fine for the first offense. The fines then jump to $275 for subsequent offenses. In Minnesota it is against the law to read, compose or send a text or email while driving. This includes while stopped at a stop light or stop sign.
Distracted driving was a factor in more than 17,000 crashes in Minnesota in 2015, resulting in 74 deaths and 174 serious injuries.