Section football champions were crowned across southern Minnesota on Saturday night. Faribault BA, Goodhue, RJM and Mankato West were among those that won titles.

Faribault Bethlehem Academy scored a 25-8 upset over New Ulm Cathedral in the 2A title game. The Cardinals face Section 1A champion Goodhue at 5PM Friday, October 30, at Rochester Community and Technical College in the state tournament quarterfinals. Goodhue, the third seed in 1A, scored its second straight upset by blanking top seed Fillmore Central 29-0.

Rochester John Marshall captured the 1AAAAA championship with a come from behind 15-12 victory over Northfield. It's JM's first section title since 2004. Defending state champ Mankato West rallied from a 17-14 halftime deficit to beat Chaska 27-17 and win the 2AAAAA title. The Rockets  and Scarlets play October 31 at 6PM in the quarterfinals.

Marshall won their first section title since 1991 with a 31-28 victory over Hutchinson for the Section 2AAAA title. The Tigers will meet the Tigers at state, as Stewartville defeated Winona 21-6 in the 1AAAA championship tilt to defend their section title and deny the Winhawks their first title since 1987.

Caledonia defended its Section 1AA title from last year with a convincing  48-7 win over Lewiston-Altura. The Warriors open state action against Blue Earth Area. The fifth-seeded Buccaneers scored their third straight section upset while beating Maple River 17-10. The Warriors and Bucs meet Friday, October 30, at RCTC at 8PM in the AA quarterfinals.

Top seed Tri-City United edged Plainview-Elgin-Millville 13-12 in take the 1AAA title.

In Section 1 of nine-man football, two-time defending state champion Grand Meadow punched their ticket back to the state tournament with a 35-7 win over Spring Grove.

The Class 6A football state tournament field was set on Friday night. The top two seeds in each pod advanced. The state quarterfinals are spread over two nights. Thursday, October 29, Lakeville North faces Osseo at Eden Prairie and East Ridge plays Wayzata at Edina. Friday, October 30, Maple Grove battles Burnsville in Hopkins and Eden Prairie meets Totino-Grace in Osseo in a rematch of last year's title game, won by EP.